Happy New Year

When out on the spin there arose such a clatter, I sprang from my saddle to see what was the matter. Away to the front I made a quick dash, And steadied the half-wheeling chap in a flash.

Saturday, December 31, 2016.

The Christmas excesses are now stored as fat, and given that a mental fog has persisted, today’s piece is very short. Gone is the advice column and the spin reports. Perhaps also the attempt to find an angle to an incident is beyond my state. Fear not, however, because fog is sometimes a breeding ground for poetry. Yes, poetry, albeit stolen and relicensed.

 

paragon-getting-cold
Copyright Paragon Machine Works

 

Version one:

‘Tis the day before New Year and all through the house

not a Bisto was stirring, not even a turbo….

 

Version two:

 

‘Tis the day before New Year, and all through the den

Not a turbo is turning, not even a wren.

The STOCKINGS were hung by the top-tube with care,

In hopes that BurkesBiking soon would be there;

Group 4* were nestled all snug in their beds;

While visions of 160 danced in their heads;

And ladies in  longs, and I in my velo,

Had cycled our brains out for a long winter’s (Audax) solo,

When out on the spin there arose such a clatter,

I sprang from my saddle to see what was the matter.

Away to the front I made a quick dash,

And steadied the half-wheeling chap in a flash.

That was the end of the half-wheeling from that day forward. Yet, the dense fog remains!

There’s more to be learned about half-wheeling here on the Dungarvan Cycling Club website.

* Insert whatever group you normally cycle with.

Happy New Year to all my readers, cycle safely out there!

Páraig

Author: burkesbiking

My bike is part of me. https://burkesbiking.wordpress.com/ 2 other blogs also: Gardening: www.petalsbyparaig.blogspot.com Personal: http://kilcaroon.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

