Blackwater Meander

Sometimes a day on the bike pans out better than any plan. Today was one of those days.

Thursday, May 26th, 2016
Cloudy and cool 12C; light easterly wind.

Today was one of those days when plans work out differently. Differently, yet better.
Intending to meet up with the Thursday 9am Kilrush gang before a second spin with Marion and Anne, I was surprised to find myself alone. On my todd. No-one else there. Time for plan B, a solo trip to Cappoquin and be back home in time for elevenses. This plan B changed several times along the way.
With a reasonable tailwind towards Ballylemon, I cranked up the pace. By Cappagh, I was fully warmed up and going well. Pushing a bit harder to Affane, I watched the Garmin pace nudge past 31k, and finished the hard workout at Richmond House.
Then the easy fun bit began. Rather than return the same route, I went by Glenshelane back to Affane, and from there I hit on a Plan C to explore roads unseen for quite a while. Passing Affane Church and derelict old schoolhouse, I meandered on towards Joe White’s at Kilmolash, and uphill on the back road to Villierstown.

image

Villierstown was looking great in the sunshine. A quick diversion to the Blackwater for a few photos and a sit-down, was followed by further byroad meandering to Aglish.

I realised by this time that I would likely be a small bit late to meet the ladies back in Abbeyside. Time therefore to push on a bit as I returned by my old school in Ballinameela, arriving just after 11 for coffee.
Part two saw us heading once again to Cappoquin, but this time along the back road to Kilmolash, at a wonderfully social pace. Coffee at Barron’s was very welcome and we devised a Plan D to return to Dungarvan on the Modeligo Motorway, via Glenshelane once again.

image

One of the sights along the social ramble was a beautiful wooden seat at Knockalara. I have passed it lots of times, but today was the day to stop. It was put in place by the local residents. in memory of one John Sullivan. What a great way to remember him, and other deceased neighbours!

image

image

Summary: 104 kilometres (65 miles) including 30 minutes hard workout, followed by over 3.5 hours easy biking with plenty time for photos, chat and coffee (or two).

Strava details here

Later that evening I downed a little tonic to replace lost minerals…
image

Author: burkesbiking

My bike is part of me. https://burkesbiking.wordpress.com/ 2 other blogs also: Gardening: www.petalsbyparaig.blogspot.com Personal: http://kilcaroon.blogspot.com

One thought on “Blackwater Meander”

Leave a Reply

