Triathlon Taper

The training is all done. I’m ready now for the Dungarvan Triathlon on Saturday, June 28th. I have worked hard since early spring, learning to swim, and competing in several bike and running events to get me to where I need to be. My task now is to ease up quite a bit to be fresh  for the big day.

I will participate in tomorrow’s club brick session at Ballyvoile. However, I will go gently. Not completely easy, though. My plan is to push the bike section very hard on the short hill, and ease up for the rest of the lap. on the run section, I intend to go hard uphill, and very easy back down. I’ve got a swim on Wednesday, and bike time-trial on Thursday. Again, I will concentrate on short hard efforts followed by easy-paced recovery. There’s a 5-mile run on Friday night, and this will be my last hard run.

Bring it on!

 

Completed events 2014:

January:

  • Naas Duathlon (run / bike / run)
  • Dungarvan John Treacy 10 (run)

February:

  • Kilmac 5 (run)

March:

  • Cycling week Gran Canaria
  • Ballinroad 5k (run)

April:

  • Butlerstown Duathlon (run / bike / run)
  • Butlerstown 4 (run)
  • Ballyvoile Brick #1 (bike / run / bike / run)

May:

 

June:

 

In addition, I biked (occasionally) with Dungarvan Cycling Club, and with Tried & Tested Triathlon Club. Challenging, training & leisure spins.

 

Footnote: I WILL get around to doing a post on all the above events. Just at the minute, they’re coming at me faster than I can cope with! Winter is a great time for writing. In summer, I gotta take the chance to get out doing them!

 

Author: burkesbiking

My bike is part of me. https://burkesbiking.wordpress.com/ 2 other blogs also: Gardening: www.petalsbyparaig.blogspot.com Personal: http://kilcaroon.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

